The 2012 scholarship recipients are Lauren Thompson and Ryan Hofmeister both of Stevens Point Area Senior High (SPASH). Both winners received $1,000.

Lauren Thompson Lauren Thompson plans on attending the University of Minnesota and has been admitted into the speech pathology program. Lauren was captain of the Girls Varsity Golf Team her junior and senior year of high school. She played Girls Varsity Basketball and was voted captain her Senior year. Outside of school, Lauren co-founded the Central Walk for Diabetes (JDRF) and has been asked to be the student speaker for the Health Students of America (HOSA) to represent the JDRF at the statewide leadership meeting. Lauren also spoke at a local Rotory meeting about diabetes awareness. Lauren has worked with special needs students at SPASH with the Community Partners Organization. Lauren has also been a religious education instructor at St. Bronislova Church.



Ryan Hofmeister
Ryan Hofmeister
plans on attending the University of Wisconsin Madison and hopes to either receive a doctorate degree in the medical field of study or a Masters degree in business adminstration. He has hopes in owning his own business someday. Ryan was one of 20 Valedictorians at SPASH. Ryan was part of the National Honor Society. Ryan has volunteered at the Festival of Indian, set up for the 2010 and 2011 Homecoming festival, volunteered and worked at many youth basketball camps, baked cookies for people at the nursing home, and volunteered packaging and delivering food for Operation Bootstrap. Ryan was an academic letter winner his Freshman through Senior years. Ryan played on the Boys Basketball Team from 2008-2012 and was voted team captain. Ryan also played on the Boys Golf Team from 2009-2012 and wasl appointed captain his Junior and Senior years. Ryan was voted to the 2nd Team All Wisconsin Valley Conference his Freshman and Sophmore year and was voted to the 1st Team All Wisconsin Valley Conference as a Junior.

Congratulations to Lauren and Ryan for winning the 2012 scholoraships and good luck in your future endeavors.

If you would like to find out more about the Fat Boy Scholarship Program, please contact us today either by sending an email to or by contacting Jim Billings (715) 343-0533 or Aaron Heckel at (715) 340-0392.

We sincerely thank you for your support,

The Fat Boy Scholarship Committee

Jim Billings & Aaron Heckel


Joe Jensen
James McDonald

2012 Lauren Thompson
Ryan Hofmeister
2011 Emily Mallek
Karisa Eckendorf
Jozef Wojciehoski
Past Scholarship Recipients
2010 Connor Donlan
Michael Shannon
2009 Coree Georgenson
Marc Gruber
Zachery Helbach
2008 Austin Heide
Max Trzebiatowski
2007 Scott Pavelski
Grant Shafranski

Mike Okray Jr.
Justin Vondra